Triangle Youth Orchestra

The Triangle Youth Orchestra is for young intermediate musicians with limited experience. Its mission is to provide a stimulating atmosphere for its members to develop the musical skills necessary to perform in our more advanced full orchestras by working with professional musicians and performing exciting arrangements of great classical music. TYO rehearses on Mondays, 6:30 - 8:15 , in the Leesville High School band room and performs in Meymandi Concert Hall. Membership is by audition, held before the season in late August. Playing ability and balance of instrumentation are the determining factors in the selection of members. Members must be available for the following dress rehearsals and concerts in Meymandi Concert Hall: 11/21/16, 11/22/16, 4/24/17 and 5/1/17. The annual fee for participation in TYO for the 2016 - 2017 season is $330. Families with multiple musicians, or single musicians participating in more than one ensemble, will receive a 20% discount on the smaller participation fee. No musician is turned away for inability to pay the participation fee.

Triangle Youth Orchestra
Click the photo to hear them play!
Tim Kohring
Triangle Youth Orchestra

Tim Kohring, Conductor,
Triangle Youth Orchestra

Tim Kohring is looking forward to another fantastic year as the Triangle Youth Orchestra director. He was excited to return back to his musical roots in the Philharmonic Association in 2008, having played in TYP and TYS during his years at Leesville High School. Mr. Kohring received his Bachelor's Degree in Music Performance from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he also studied conducting with Mr. Tonu Kalam and Dr. Michael Votta. He then completed a Master's in Arts in Teaching from the UNC-CH School of Education. Mr. Kohring has been on the faculty of Wakefield Middle School and North Garner Middle School. He is currently the band teacher at Rolesville Middle School where he teaches concert band classes and jazz band ensembles, and enjoys the benefits and challenges to teaching in a year-round school. He can be seen from time to time playing with various community ensembles as a tuba player. Mr. Kohring is a member of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, the North Carolina Bandmasters Association, and the North Carolina Music Educators Association.

Jacob Wenger, Assistant Conductor
Triangle Youth Orchestra

Cellist Jacob Wenger is a native of Raleigh and a former Principal in the Triangle Youth Philharmonic. He received an undergraduate degree from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, and a Masters degree from Manhattan School of Music. Mr. Wenger currently holds positions in the Raleigh Symphony, the Tar River Philharmonic, and the North Carolina Theatre pit orchestra. He has performed with several touring Broadway shows at the Durham Performing Arts Center. Mr. Wenger has also performed with the "Requiem for Darfur" Orchestra in Carnegie Hall, an orchestra which included some of the best orchestral and chamber musicians in the United States. He maintains a private studio in Raleigh, and is also on the faculty at Ravenscroft School, Community Music School, and the Hayes-Barton School of Music. Mr. Wenger studied privately with Margo Drakos, Zvi Plesser, Marcy Rosen, and Jonathan Kramer. He has also studied chamber music with Robert Mann, the founding first violinist of the Juilliard String Quartet, as well as Sylvia Rosenberg and Jeffrey Cohen.

2015-2016 Personnel

Violin I

Tony Cui, Concertmaster
Kenny Zhang, Associate Concertmaster
Woody Livesay, Assistant Concertmaster
Dongjae Lee, Assistant Concertmaster
Cathy Sun
LIllian Mei
Ethan Kahn
Sophia Dai
Mary Halvorsen
Ritvik Bhagawatula
Tanvi Patil
Adarsh Shidhaye
Esha Srinivasan
Kevin Zhang
Nidhi Pandrangi
Isabella Jong
Hayoon Cho
Loren Boshoff
Rohan Ray
Caroline Koluch


Prashant Harish, Principal
Arnav Thakker, Assistant Principal
JJulia Ho
Anand Azhakanandam

Sean Darney, Principal

Violin II

Claudia Money, Principal
Smriti Sridharan, Associate Principal
Grace Vitaglione
Kiara Lowery
Anna Ernest
Kimberley Berry
David Lu
Andrew Sin
Rowan Burgon
Ian Kim
Hannah-Marie Santos
Jankhna Sura
Rebecca Cai
Frances Kendrick
Sadhana Srinivasan
Olivia Hershfeld
Meghana Prabhu
Alan Piao
Joseph Wan
Karthik Annadurai


Ethan Hess, Co-Principal
Stella Hulbert, Co-Principal
Audrey Lomax, Associate Principal
William DeStaffan
Sophia Lisk
Shefali Pai
Natalie Wiese
Raphael Lee
Tanya Qu
Michael Dacanay
Athanasius Soderberg
Arush Narang

Sarah Pittman
Janie Wang
Gina Yi
Amy Xu


Megan Vezzeti


Shriya Haravu
Alexander Kuropas
Junyoung Lee
Sreya Vannappagari

French Horn

Julie Elder
Luis Rivera, III


Brookelyn Wunsch


Juliet Stone


Annah Race

The Woodwind and Brass Sections Rotate